United Nations Security Council


Topic A

The Armenian-Azerbaijan Conflict

Backgrounder coming soon

Topic B

The Kashmir Conflict

Backgrounder coming soon

[email protected]

Dais team

Tamerlan Nuhiyev


Fiona Reuter




The United Nations Security Council (UNSC) is the primary organ of the United Nations responsible for the maintenance of international peace and security.

The UNSC is made up of 15 member states, with five permanent members and ten non-permanent members. The permanent members, known as the P5, are the United States, China, France, Russia and the United Kingdom. Each of the P5 possesses the power to veto any substantive UNSC resolutions. Non-permanent members are elected for two-year terms by the General Assembly.

The UNSC holds a special place in the UN, as it is the only body with the power to make decisions that other members are obligated to follow. Under the UN Charter, all member states agree to accept and carry out decisions made by the UNSC. Should a peaceful comprise not be possible the UNSC has the power, should it judge appropriate, to dispatch peacekeepers, enforce economic sanctions, severe diplomatic relations, or even pursuing collective military action. The high pressure situations which the UNSC deals with along with the aspect of veto power makes the UNSC a true challenge for and delegate. The UNSC is an advanced committee, featuring fast-paced developments and a high level of debate.